Importance of Puja

Puja is a sacred practice of reverence, honor, adoration or worship from the devotee towards the Almighty.  For Puja, all you need is a devoted heart full of love for the divine. The merciful God overlooks the shortcomings of men if they follow the path of spirituality with devotion.

According to Hinduism, a formal puja consists of meditation, austerity, chanting of mantras, scripture reading, offering food and prostrations. Puja is generally concluded with Aarti to the Lord. Puja can be celebrated by an individual person or in gathering. The ceremony may be done in silence or accompanied by prayers.

Steps of a Puja

A typical Puja involves the following 27 steps:

  1. Dhyaanam Samarpayami (Think or meditate on the Lord)
  2. Aawaahanam Samarpayami (Offering invitation the Lord)
  3. Aasanam Samarpayami (Offer a seat to the Lord)
  4. Paadyam Samarpayami (Offer water to wash the feet)
  5. Arghyam Samarpayami (Offer water to wash the hands)
  6. Aachamaneeyam Samarpayami (Offer water to drink)
  7. Snaanam Samarpayami (Give bath to the Lord)
  8. Maha Abhishekam Samarpayami (Give main head bath to the Lord)
  9. Pratishtaapayaami (Make him seated)
  10. Vasthram Samarpayami (Offer clothes to the Lord)
  11. Yajnopaveetham Samarpayami (Offer the Holy Thread)
  12. Gandham Samarpayami (Offer sandalwood paste/powder)
  13. Akshatham Samarpayami (Offer Akshatha/ Rice)
  14. Pushpam Samarpayami (Offer Flowers to the Lord)
  15. Ashthothtra Poojam Samarpayami (Offer the holy 108 names)
  16. Dhoopam Aaghraapayaami (Offer Fragrance / Agarbatti)
  17. Deepam Darshayaami (Offer light to the lord)
  18. Neivedyam Samarpayami (Offer Food to the Lord)
  19. Phalam Samarpayami (Offer Fruits to the Lord)
  20. Taamboolam Samarpayami (Offer betel nut and leaves)
  21. Dakshinam Samarpayami (Offer money to the Lord)
  22. Maha Nirajanam Samarpayami (Offer aarti to the Lord)
  23. Pradakshinam Samarpayami (Taking clockwise rounds of arti)
  24. Namaskaram Samarpayami (Offer Prostrations)
  25. Mantra Pushpam Samarpayami (Offer incantations and flowers)
  26. Praarthanaam Samarpayami (Offer prayers, request your desires)
  27. Kshamaapanam Samarpayami (Offer apologies & ask for forgiveness)